Trying out Fruit-Infused Water

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI should start this post by stating I do not like soda much as it makes me tired and bloated. After reading loads of articles – stemming from both my regular food research and magazines such as Vogue – I decided to give up drinking soda for a while and to see what happened. Normally, in those type of only-drinking-what-really-is-good-for-you type of fad drinking diets, it is recommended to only drink plain water and perhaps green tea. However, as I like my morning coffee, a cup of good warm tea and a nice glass of red wine / white wine / beer / cocktails / other forms of alcohol (responsibly) from time to time, this was not going to happen. Furthermore, as plain water often bores me, especially here in Belgium where it is much harder than the soft natural water of my beloved hometown, I looked for a beverage that would have the same amounts of pure, ‘good’ H20 but better-tasting.

Fruit-infused water was a perfect solution. Not only could it motivate me to drink more water, but it also meant I would effectively consume more fruit (which I do not always do too well) and it looked pretty.

Normally you are supposed to make these in a larger carafe or big bottle, but since I like variety and my carafe is somewhere back in Apeldoorn, I decided to use 0.5 litre bottles instead. Since plastic bottles can release toxins over time, I use glass ones that once carried Albert Heijn-pressed fresh juice. God, I love the Albert Heijn.

Since fresh fruit in the form of berries goes way beyond my humble student budget and my humble student eating habits, I decided to use frozen berries (both frozen blackberries and a selection of frozen forest fruit from the Delhaize. These types of frozen berries are much cheaper at the Albert Heijn, but soit. I really miss the Albert Heijn). I also used lemon, as citrus fruits are easier to come by (read: more budget friendly) and more versatile since I use them more often in cooking as garnish or in fruit juices / smoothies. Plus, Lauren Conrad says you should start every day by drinking some lemon water – as it is cleansing, refreshing and it makes you drink a lot of water early in the day – and Lauren Conrad is enough of an authority figure in this sense for me that I am willing to follow her advice.

The recipes for these three bottles are:

  • One lemon, diced into little slices and spread over two bottles
  • One Granny Smith apple, sliced into little bits with an apple slicer, consequently four slices were diced and put into one bottle
  • Some frozen blueberries. According to this ScienceDaily article the South Dakota State University found that frozen blueberries were healthier than actual fresh ones (interesting…). They also pack loads of antioxidants, have plenty of fibre and some other additional benefits (vitamin K and manganese for example).
  • Some frozen forest fruit, which still includes blueberries, as well as mulberries, strawberries and red currants. Great again for the antioxidants.
  • Split the diced lemon across two of the bottles. Put the Granny Smith in another bottle.
  • Add frozen blueberries and forest fruit at will – I left one lemon bottle untouched, whilst I put only blueberries in the other lemon one and blueberries + frozen fruit in the Granny Smith one, since experience told me that the Granny Smith needed some additional flavouring beyond the blueberries.

Review: The lemon gets a bit bitter if you leave it in the bottle overnight, so if you are not a fan of bitter lemon (no pun or reference to trademarks intended), you are better off soaking the lemon in the water just a couple of hours before you drink it. For the rest, I definitely got my 1.5 litre in, so I will do this more often!

I have also set my mind to making some of these yummy-looking recipes in the future:

Leave a Reply

